Q and A – Color Palettes and Printing

I received an email from Emily with fantastic questions, so I thought I would answer her questions on the website and share the info with everyone. Thank you Emily for taking the time to contact me and for your very nice comments…I loved hearing from you and I’m always happy to answer questions.

Emily wrote: Hi! I LOVE your kits, your style, your layouts and well your entire website. You design in such a unique and sophisticated manner and your layouts look like they have come from the pages of magazines. I can’t thank you enough for sharing your talent and hard work through all the freebies and the information you share. I have a few questions for you, if you have time to answer them?

How do you determine your color palettes? They are always so beautiful and inspiring.

  • I’ve learned how to use my cell phone camera really well, so when I’m out and about and I see a great design, color scheme, landscape, etc., I simply take a photo, email it to myself and then save those photos in a folder on my computer. When I begin a new collection, I browse through the photos and then I upload a photo to Big Huge Labs which has a great Color Generator. Here is how easy it is once you upload your photo: Click the Create button and it will give you 15 colors from the photo you uploaded. Click the download button right below the 15 colors swatches, select a file name and save it as an ASE file. I work in PSE7, so I then load the color palette into my color swatches, which I have on my layers palette. If you don’t have or aren’t seeing color swatches, click on Windows in the menu bar, then click on Color Swatches. Click the double arrows on the Color Swatches window, click on load swatches, find your ASE file and your new color palette will load. I then use these colors to create a customized color palette for each collection. Really fun to use and oh so simple! 

I’d like to print my completed pages into books for gifts. Do you know of any places that do this?

  • What a great gift your books are going to make! There are many, many places to choose from to have your completed pages turned into spectacular books. You may wish to peek at ShutterflyMpix and Snapfish to get you started. Also if you are a Costco member, I recently received information that they are now offering photo books, so you can check them out as well. If anyone has a company they’ve used to print out completed pages into books and would like to share, please feel free to leave a comment of your favorite printing store!

Do you have any collaborations or blog trains where I could download more of your kits?

  • I have never done a collaboration kit, but would LOVE to, as I think it would be so much fun. I am trying to join a blog train, and will know in a couple of weeks if that will be happening, so I’ll keep everyone posted. 

Do you have a store where your kits are for sale? If you do, I would like 1 of everything!

  • I don’t currently have any of the collections for sale, but I have started to design collections that will only be sold. I’ve been diligently working for many months on researching the best way for me to add my collections for sale right on my website, so stay tuned, as hopefully this will be happening very soon!

On the Facebook 50 Collection, there is a page with the wording “Stunning”. What do I need to do to make the background paper look just like yours?

  • You don’t need to do a thing. The paper I used for that layout is straight out of the collection – Paper 3 – Patterned. Just drop and drag it on to your page and your background will look just like mine. 
This entry was posted in Q and A. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment